Futrell-Maudlin Community Foundation for Greater Rocky Mount and Edgecombe Charitable Foundation acc

Futrell-Maudlin Community Foundation for Greater Rocky Mount and Edgecombe Charitable Foundation accepting grant applications


The boards of advisors of both the Futrell-Maudlin Community Foundation for Greater Rocky Mount and the Edgecombe Charitable Foundation are currently accepting grant applications for programs funded from their respective community grantmaking funds, according to Sam Johnson, Futrell-Maudlin board president and Jane Thorne, ECF board president.


Futrell-Maudlin serves the Rocky Mount/Nash County area while ECF serves all of Edgecombe county. Both Futrell-Maudlin and ECF are affiliates of the North Carolina Community Foundation.

Funds are available for nonprofit organizations that serve general charitable needs in Rocky Mount and Edgecombe County. Applications are available online beginning July 13. Visit nccommunityfoundation.org for information about applying. The deadline for submitting applications is noon Aug. 14.

For further information, contact NCCF Regional Director Kelly Lee at 252-557-0278 or klee@nccommunityfoundation.org or visit the NCCF website at nccommunityfoundation.org.

About the Futrell-Maudlin Community Foundation and Edgecombe Charitable Foundation
The Futrell-Maudlin Community Foundation and the Edgecombe Charitable Foundation are growing families of philanthropic funds, resource areas for nonprofits, sources of grants for local causes and partners for donors. Futrell-Maudlin and ECF are led by separate, local advisory boards that help build their respective community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership—all for the benefit of the Rocky Mount area and Edgecombe County. Whatever your means or charitable goals, both Futrell-Maudlin and ECF make it easy to become a philanthropist. Futrell-Maudlin was founded in 1998 and the ECF was founded in 1995, and both are affiliate foundations of the North Carolina Community Foundation. In addition to Johnson, Futrell-Maudlin board members include: Celeste Pittman (vice president), Sheila Powell Martin (secretary), Sally Mayo Adams, Thomas Betts, Angela Burton, Kara Cox, Daniel Crocker, Mark Daley, Annie Daughtridge, Richard Futtrell, Kevin Harris, William Kincheloe, Neil Nelson, Deborah Sperati, Braxton Townsend and Elizabeth Turnage.

In addition to Thorne, who was recently named to serve on the NCCF statewide board, affiliate board members include: Mary Jane Jenkins (vice president), Laura Temple (secretary), Mahlon Deloatch (treasurer), Jim Marrow (grants chair), Calvin Adkins, Thomas Anderson, Alison Blodgett, Joy Chafin, W.G. Clark, Carol Cobb, Jerome Creech, Anthony Edwards, Jamilla Hawkins, Linda Knight, Anne Lewis, Michael Peters, Mears Pitt and Margaret-Anne Wooten.

Tax-deductible contributions, made payable to either the Futrell-Maudlin Community Foundation for Greater Rocky Mount or the Edgecombe Charitable Foundation, can be mailed to the North Carolina Community Foundation, 3737 Glenwood Ave. Suite 460, Raleigh, NC 27612. Contributions can also be made online at nccommunityfoundation.org.

About the North Carolina Community Foundation
The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has administered more than $130 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With nearly $247 million in assets, NCCF sustains 1,200 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships. The NCCF partners with a network of affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance across the state. An important component of NCCF’s mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at local, regional and national levels.
For more information, visit nccommunityfoundation.org, like us on Facebook and follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter @NCCF.